South Raleigh News

South Raleigh News

Thursday, February 27, 2020

Raleigh City Council takes oath of office

Local Government

By William Sassani | Dec 28, 2019

The Raleigh City Council |

The new Raleigh City Council was officially sworn into office on Dec. 2 at Union Station.

The eight-person council welcomed five new members, including recently elected Mayor Mary-Ann Baldwin, at-large member Jonathan Melton, Patrick T. Buffkin (District A), Saige Martin (District D) and David Knight (District E). Returning to the council are at-large member Nicole Stewart, David Cox (District B) and Corey Branch (District C). 

Baldwin says the city will be sponsoring a program called "Raleigh Unleashed" next month, which she described as a brainstorming session. 


"We'll proactively embrace new technology that benefits our residents," she said in a statement on the city's website. “Construction of phase one of Dix Park, building and maintaining our entire parks and greenway system in an equitable way, and supporting housing affordability” are also part of the new mayor's “quality of life initiative.”

These programs would be funded by a bond measure that will be voted on by the public in the 2020 election cycle. 

Raleigh is governed by what's called a council-manager system. The mayor and council are elected by the voters and has a legislative agenda, but a city-appointed manager oversees the daily operations of city government.

The swearing-in ceremony for the new council was broadcast by Raleigh Television Network (RTN).

Want to get notified whenever we write about City of Raleigh ?

Sign-up Next time we write about City of Raleigh, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

City of Raleigh

More News